Docly Developers
Blog

Understanding the Shift to Workspaces

Change is the only constant, and in our quest to continually improve your experience, we've rolled out a significant update: the transition from a home folder-centric system to a workspace-based model. This change aims to make your workflow more streamlined, collaborative, and efficient. In this blog post, we'll guide you through what this change means for you, how your old home folder fits into this new paradigm, and how you can manage these new workspaces.

The Shift from Home Folders to Workspaces

>

What's Changed?

Previously, each user had a "home folder" as their top-level directory, where they could create folders and upload files. Shared folders from other users also appeared in this space. Now, the top level has been replaced by "workspaces," which can either be your own top-level folders or folders that others have shared with you.

>

What Happens to My Old Home Folder?

Your old home folder has been automatically converted into a workspace. All your documents and folders are right where you left them; they're just moved into a top-level workspace folder called "My workspace".

Managing Your Workspaces

>

How to Convert Folders to Workspaces

  • Navigate to the folder you wish to convert.

  • Right-click on the folder and select "Properties."

  • Go to the "Admin" tab.

  • Click "Convert to workspace", choose the subscription the new workspace will belong to under "Choose subscription", and click "Convert".

Your folder will now be elevated to a workspace, appearing at the top "Home" level alongside any workspaces that have been shared with you.

>

How to Convert Workspaces Back to Folders

If you decide that a workspace would be better suited as a regular folder:

  • Navigate to the workspace.

  • Right-click and select "Properties."

  • Go to the "Admin" tab.

  • Click "Merge into other workspace...". In the "Move" dialog that opens, choose the workspace (or a folder in it) to move it into, and click "Move".

The workspace becomes a regular folder in the workspace you chose and will no longer appear at the top "Home" level.

>

Terminating a Workspace

If you're the owner of a workspace, you have the option to terminate the workspace. This action will delete all the documents and folders within it and is irreversible.

To terminate a workspace:

  • Navigate to the workspace.

  • Right-click and select "Properties."

  • Go to the "Admin" tab.

  • Click "Terminate this workspace" and confirm.